Ohio Chapter ISA Annual Meeting Minutes February 2, 2017

Duke Energy Convention Center, Cincinnati, OH

Invocation was given by Treasurer Thomas Munn. 87 members and 8 guests were recorded as present. The meeting was called to order at 7:51 am.

Opening Remarks

President Richard Rathjens thanked everyone for attending. He thanked the OTCC exhibitors, sponsors and committee members for their outstanding support and recognized and thanked the 2016 Board of Directors and liaisons. He noted that 2017 marks the 75th anniversary of the Ohio Chapter.

Necrology

Jo'Del Hower passed away on May 22; Zachary Joseph Butcher on June 12 and Richard E. Abbott in October. Their influence and support of the Chapter and profession will be missed.

Awards

The following awards were presented:

Award of Merit Chad Clink, Lola Lewis & Carrie Paulus

President's Award Chad Clink Safety Award City of Cincinnati

Special Award Eric Davis & Independent Tree

ISA Gold Leaf Chillicothe Tree Commission/Jim Slyh

Honorary Life Membership All Past Presidents

TREE Fund

Karen Lindell, Community Engagement Manager, reviewed their goals and outreach. She acknowledged Beth Buchanan and the Ohio Chapter for their continued outstanding contributions to the TREE Fund.

Chapter Scholarships

2016 scholarship recipients were recognized:

Certified Arborist \$750 Scholarship

- Robert Boehle
- Carl Stevens
- Matthew Stewart
- Kelin Wilkins

Traditional Student \$1,000 Scholarship

- Anna Detoro
- Matthew McDermott
- Ryan Vogel

Professional Development \$500 Scholarship

- Josè Fernandez
- Jennifer Roberts

Chapter Business Meeting

The Chapter business meeting was conducted by President Rathjens. 2016 annual meeting minutes and the annual report including a financial update were available at each table.

There was a motion and a second to **accept the 2016 annual meeting minutes** as presented. **Motion carried.**Treasurer Munn provided the financial report noting that there is \$254,912 in assets and the Chapter is in good financial shape. The investment performance is reflected in the annual report and financials are visible to all members on the Chapter's website as required by IRS for non-profit 501(c)3 organizations. He informed the membership that the finance committee meets monthly to review and approve income and disbursements.

President Rathjens provided an organizational update noting that 2016 was focused on building bridges with allied organizations.

The 2017 Board of Directors were announced as Ernie Brinker (President), Eric Davis (Vice President), Tom Munn (Treasurer); and Directors Chad Clink, Jim Jenkins, Kevin Jones, Samantha Simmons, Tyler Stevenson and Mark Webber.

Brinker presented Rathjens with the outgoing president's plaque, honorary life members, and thanked him for his years of service.

Adjournment

No further business being heard, President Brinker adjourned the meeting at 8:44 am.

Dixie J. Russell, CAE, CMP Executive Director and Secretary