# Ohio Chapter ISA Annual Meeting Minutes February 10, 2015

Dayton Convention Center, Dayton, Ohio

Invocation was given by President Joe Russell during breakfast. There were 75 members and 9 guests present.

Meeting called to order at 7:45 am.

#### **Opening Remarks**

President Russell thanked everyone for attending. He noted that attendance at this year's show was the highest in recent years. He recognized and thanked the 2014 Board of Directors and liaisons. He also thanked the 2015 OTCC sponsors, exhibitors, committee members and moderators for their support and dedication.

## <u>Necrology</u>

Andrew Mitchell passed away in September. He was a senior forester with American Electric Power.

## Awards

The following awards were presented:

Award of Merit	R J Laverne
Award of Achievement	Joe Boggs
Honorary Life Member	Beth Buchanan
Lifetime Achievement Award	Lloyd Kennedy
	Mr. Kennedy is 100 years old and a former member of ISA and the Ohio
	Chapter. In his acceptance speech, he encouraged members to, "Be
	honest, fair, provide quality work and send invoices on time."
President's Award	Jerry Western
Special Awards	1) Dave Bienemann (OTCC committee chair)
	2) Jay Butcher (Ohio TCC)
	3) Kent Roosevelt High School (outstanding educational achievements)

#### **ISA International Update**

Mark Hoenigman, the Chapter's Council of Representatives (COR Rep), provided the ISA update. He also presented three ISA Gold Leaf Awards to the City of Cincinnati, City of Piqua and College of Wooster for their Arbor Day activities.

# TREE Fund

Beth Buchanan, Chapter liaison, presented the TREE Fund update noting grant opportunities and deadlines. She also recognized 2014 Team Ohio Tour des Trees riders and encouraged other to sign up to ride in the 2015 event.

#### **Chapter Scholarships**

2014 Scholarship recipients were recognized:

## Certified Arborist \$750 Scholarship

- Jason Keltner
- John Lewis
- Robert Powell
- Debra Wallace

## Traditional Student \$1,000 Scholarship

- Rachel Bienemann
- Anna Detoro
- John Siefer
- Kodi Stebner

# **Professional Development \$500 Scholarship**

- John Hilkert
- Kurtis Magnello
- Carrie Paulus

President Russell reminded attendees that the 2015 deadline for applications is August 1.

# **Chapter Business Meeting**

The Chapter business meeting was conducted by President Russell. Copies of the 2014 annual meeting minutes, the Annual Report, and a copy of the 2014-2015 budget were available at each table.

President Russell announced that the 2018 ISA International Conference will be held in Columbus, Ohio and encouraged members to think about how they can help.

Lola Lewis moved to **accept the February 25, 2014 annual meeting minutes** as presented. There was a second. All voted in favor. **Motion carried.** 

President Russell provided the financial report noting that the Chapter currently has nearly \$316,000 in assets and the investment performance is reflected in the annual report. He reminded the membership that the Finance Committee reviews the Offinger Management billing statement and general ledgers on a monthly basis.

The 2015 Board of Directors were announced as Shirley Vaughn (President), Richard Rathjens (Vice President), Tom Munn (Treasurer); Directors Danny Bagwell, Joe Boggs, Brad McBride, Jennifer Milbrandt, Craig Schaar and Samantha Simmons.

Jerry Western presented President Russell with the outgoing president's plaque and thanked him for his years of service.

## Adjournment

No further business being heard, President Russell adjourned the meeting at 8:45 am.

Dixie J. Russell, CMP Executive Director and Secretary